Facts about Virunga Mountains – Virunga mountains also known as Virunga mountain ranges are situated three countries of east Africa and they been protected under one world heritage site to form the Virunga conservation massif. The Virunga Mountains stretches its boundaries in the countries of Uganda, Rwanda and Democratic Republic of Congo. The mountains bases lies with the Albertine rift valley, lake albert as well as lake kivu.

Some of the impacts about Virunga Mountains include;

 Virunga Mountains are 8 volcano chains that is only found in east Africa along the branch of the Albertine rift valley. Most of Virunga Mountains are dormant volcanoes exception of mount Nyiragongo, mount Nyamuragira which all situated in Virunga national park in eastern republic of Congo., other Virunga mount mountains include mount. Gahinga and mount Mahabura in Mgahinga national park of Uganda, mount Mikeno in Virunga national park, mount Sabinyo in volcano national park of Rwanda, mount Karisimbi and mount Bisoke.

Among the 8 Virunga mountains, mount Karisimbi is the highest volcano and stands at an elevation of 4507 meters, mount Sabinyo is the oldest mountain and mount Nyamuragira is the most active with last eruption in 2010 followed by mount Nyiragongo with its last eruption in 2006 and it is most trekked among the 8 mountains.

The Virunga mountains harbors the remaining rare and endangered mountain gorillas in the world which is one of the great attraction and great wonders of the world that attracts a lot of travelers who come to Africa. Thus the Virunga Mountains are famous destinations for not only mountain hiking but as well as the lifetime gorilla trekking adventure experience which is extremely exciting to all travelers that engage in the activity.